cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

SOLVED
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

According to http://community.mega.com/t5/Forum-HOPEX-Product/Upgrade-from-V1R2-to-V2/m-p/15858#M4486, after completing the install and migration to V1R3 CP16, I proceeded with the uninstall and install to V2.

 

My users were gone!

 

My router.ini file got wiped out except for the application user, and I lost all of the other users. I copied them back in from the backup I had, but all of the users' license permissions are gone.

 

This was done in a staging environment.

 

1) How can I circumvent this from happening when I go to V2 in production?

2) Are there any other gotchas like this that I don't see documentation for?

 

Thanks!

5 REPLIES
MEGA

Re: Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

Hello ClairestrbM_T

 

When you talk about users and user license permission, I assume you do not talk about users registed in the systemdb (and stored in SQL server or Oracle). I doubt then can disappear so easily Smiley Wink.

 

I assume you talk about must license configuration (possible user, assigmnent to a license).
These settings are file based. They should not disappear easily but if you change teh machine used and did not backup/restore them, you may not find them on the target machine.

 

Let use assume I have a must license Licence-Y9999.must saved on \\W-JHR-NEW\_Licenses
At runtime, subfolders will be created
\\W-JHR-NEW\_Licenses\Licence-Y9999\TOKEN
\\W-JHR-NEW\_Licenses\Licence-Y9999\USERS
+ a file \\W-JHR-NEW\_Licenses\Licence-Y9999\Router.ini

-> If you have access to the source machine, get these files.

Jerome
Occasional Contributor

Re: Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

My environments are not shown in Administration.exe either, although my SQL connection is successful.

Occasional Contributor

Re: Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

Hi Jerome, yes it was the same machine.  Yes, the users and license permissions are inside HOPEX, not SQL Server.  It sounds like I need to make a Support case.  Thanks.

Occasional Contributor

Re: Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

Jerome, As far as the environments are concerned, I found a fullPath/V1R2/environmentName folder.  I guess I'm supposed to copy that to fullPath/V2/environmentName, or am I supposed to set fullPath/V1R2 in a file somewhere?  Is there a document that describes this and your licenses reply?

Occasional Contributor

Re: Users and license permissions lost when I upgrade from V1R3 CP16 to V2

Found the environments in megasite.ini.  The "How to migrate to HOPEX V2 EN.pdf" says to back this up, but I do not see where we were told to paste the data into V2's megasite.ini.